One I made earlier…

where did the last week go….sewing todo list didn’t get anything crossed off! 

I was lucky enough to squeeze in a few hours with my daughters & grandkiddes­čśÇ though and it was seeing my daughter walking down the town sporting her baby carrier & changing bag that prompted me to show you this one I made earlier. 

When grandbaby no2 was on her way my daughter was searching for a bag big enough to hold all the paraphernalia needed for a newborn as well as all the bits she was already carting around for a 20 month old. 

So I came up with this…. 

  

Basically 2 bags in one. The front & back were 2 squares, joined around 3 sides then squared off at bottom corners to give a flatter base. The inside consisted of 2 smaller bags made of a wipe clean fabric  with the top flaps sewn in between them before attaching to outer fabric.

The lovely cotton fabrics used were just remnants I found at a little local shop, which I interlined with a heavier woven fabric to add strength. I was really pleased with how they contrasted but pulled together with the bright bias detail. 

The bag has been well used & still going strong 6 months on. With dinosaurs on one side it’s boyish enough for daddy to happily carry too….not sure I’ve seen him wearing the baby wrap carrier though­čśâ

 

Leave a Reply

