Sunday afternoon sew

After weeks of no sewing I was starting to miss it, so a quick make was needed!  This gave me a chance to try the lovely sleeveless top I’d spotted in The Great British Sewing Bee’s book, Fashion with Fabric. This is a great book with lots of information, tips & lovely patterns. 

So pattern chosen & traced now to pick the fabric. As a last minute plan it ment a search of the fabric stash & I came across theses sari/sarong/wraps I picked up a few weeks ago.  

 
I have returned to sewing after quiet a few years break & I don’t know about you but I’m finding reasonably priced fabric harder to find so have been looking at different sources. One of these being a fantastic stall on the local market. They are on sale at a range of prices but I got these little lovelies for only £1 each. Great for me to practice working with fine fabrics (which I dread) & try out patterns.  

 
Back to the top! Being a sheer fabric instead of cutting the facings as the pattern stated I cut bias strips to edge the armholes & neck edges.   

   
Using a two tone fabric I stitched in one colour thread then overlooked in the other, just to add interest if inside edges were seen😃 

   
I made a straight size 10 on this one which was ok but think it would be a better fit on me by possibly dropping down a size & doing a full bust adjustment (I only found out recently that patterns are based on a B cup bust) so that’s the next thing to learn from the book. 

  

So that’s my little £1 top now what to do with the others pieces…. I love this black one! 
 

Leave a Reply

