Birthday dress

 I really need to get on with making a few seperates needed in my wardrobe but to me a birthday is always a reason for a new dress. With that in mind I made a visit to Fabricland in Basingstoke. I hadn’t been to that branch before and wasn’t disappointed; the staff were very helpful & friendly, I found plenty of reasonably priced fabrics I liked plus a variety of haberdashery items that I hadn’t realised I desperately needed. A very successful detour during my drive back to the West Country! 

I had already decide to make the Floating bodice dress, free pattern with Love Sewing some time ago, but didn’t have a clear plan as to fabric.

 Walking into the store some bright scuba fabrics instantly caught my eye. I hadn’t used scuba before but it was so easy to handle that I will be returning to get some more. They still have this butterfly design on their site at £5:99m. Being a knit, with slight stretch, it didn’t need overlooking so great for speedy makes.  

 Picking such a bright patterned fabric I opted for a plain chiffon for the floating bodice which I French seamed together before attaching to dress.  

 
As it was possible to see the facings through this fabric I doubled the shoulder facing over to enclose the seam. I also turned down & stitched the edge of the underarm as there are no armhole facings included in the pattern, I would use bias next time. 

  
The chiffon bodice did end up a little larger than it should along shoulder edge so ended up looking slightly gathered but apart from that I’m happy with the finished result. Next time I think I’d make the bodic in the scuba too, as the chiffon did cling on occasions so lost the floating effect, & having seen pics I would also lengthen to just below the knee. 

 
 So with the birthday dress finished it was off for a day in London with Mr B, finished off with a fantastic meal & a drink or 2😃

  

2 thoughts on “Birthday dress

Leave a Reply

