Gift sewing…

It’s great to be able to make gifts so it’s something that they couldn’t buy, especially when the person your making it for often says “I could do with one like that!”πŸ˜ƒ  

So with a friends birthday coming up I decided to make her something to wear but what  exactly to make was the problem. Not knowing her measurements, I didn’t want to spoil surprise by asking, but then I remembered she tried had on one of my waistcoats previously. 


This is a great pattern & I have previously made it for a Tutorial with Minerva Crafts if you would like to see how it’s made in more detail. 

For this waiscoat I choose a lightweight stretch denim and a contrasting lining fabric. Instead of adding a back tie & buckle detail I opted for top stitching all seamlines in the same colour as the lining. 


Finished off with contrasting buttonholes, metal buttons & a perfect little label from Nominette 


I’m very pleased with the result (although I’m not sure my late night sewing of the label was as neat as I thought now I look at pic!) & hopefully the birthday girl will like it too πŸ˜ƒ

Update! 

She loved itπŸ˜ƒ

2 thoughts on “Gift sewing…

Leave a Reply

