Day at the races

Doesn’t seem a year ago that I wrote about my outfit for our first visit to Royal Ascot but we enjoyed the day so much that we decided to go back again for ladies day this year😃

For me it’s just as much about seeing the fashions as anything else. There were some amazing hats & dresses, as well as very smart gents in their suits,  with of course the Queen looking amazing for 90 in her vivid blue coat with an orange hat. 

I opted for colourful again the year with a waxed cotton that I bought very reasonably at Shepherds Bush market a couple months ago. It’s the first time I’ve used this but found it easy to work with & soft once washed. 


 The pattern is from the mid ninties & I’ve had it sat there unused for years! 


It’s a relatively straightforward make, I like the amount of fullness in the skirt without a load of gathers at the waist we don’t really suit me. The only alteration I made was to lower the back neckline into a v shape. 

As the panels run for the full length of the dress I managed to place so that the striped panels ran down the centre of each pattern piece with the extension for the pleat fell on to the sort of symbol design section. I don’t seemed to have taken any construction pics to show but here’s the finished result. 


I choose to wear with a net petticoat & corset belt (both of which I’ll tell you about in a seperate blog)  but I like it on its worn as a cool summer dress too. 

The day finished with a sing song around the bandstand. We had a fantastic day & the weather was kind., think we may need to put this in the diary for every year😃

6 thoughts on “Day at the races

Leave a Reply

